Page 1 of 1

Power Can use Zero Voltage Switch?

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 1:21 pm
by jeremywu0521
Fusor power can use Zero Voltage Switch?
It very cheap and easy to make,
Can use it? If can't ,can use Series circuit make it work?

Re: Power Can use Zero Voltage Switch?

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 6:36 pm
by Andrew Seltzman
Hi Jeremy,

Zero voltage switching (ZVS) supplies can be used for fusors (many comercial supplies are ZVS/ZCS designs), but they would need sufficient output (-40kV at 5-10mA).

Also, these questions belong in the new user chat area:
viewforum.php?f=46

Please change your handle to match your name jeremywu0521 => Jeremy Wu and post an introduction in the please introduce yourself forum:
viewforum.php?f=45

Re: Power Can use Zero Voltage Switch?

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:25 pm
by ian_krase
The inexpensive supplies using ZVS circuit and a single CRT flyback probably don't work.


But it doesn't matter how the high voltage is generated as long as there is enough of it (both current and voltage at the *same time*) which there often isn't.


Also, I'm not sure what you mean by "series circuit" but if you mean putting several moderate high voltage supplies in series to provide the very high voltage needed for a fusor, that's not very practical. Having floating grounds at 20 kV is generally Bad, or at least more trouble than it is worth. Trying to do this with ordinary hardware will often result in arcover and sending high voltage into your house wiring.

Most fusor power supplies are either an X-ray transformer (old, heavy, and rare), or a switching supply that generates 5-10 kV AC, then uses a CW multiplier to boost to the final output voltage. (expensive)