A new topology for building a low-cost DIY HV power supply ... 30kV/80W for $25.

This forum is for specialized infomation important to the construction and safe operation of the high voltage electrical supplies and related circuitry needed for fusor operation.
Chris Bradley

A new topology for building a low-cost DIY HV power supply ... 30kV/80W for $25.

Post by Chris Bradley » Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:51 pm

This is the first article describing practical outcomes of my epicyclotron project, and possibly the most useful one for future fusor applications. This is the power supply I developed for the project (thread reference; viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2029#p9250 epicyclotron project #5). I've been using variations of this circuit for 3 years, and have applied for a UK patent for it.

With this topology, it is possible to use many feeble HV AC power sources, and add their collective power and voltages together into a substantial power supply.

I have a small degree of reservation in putting forward this construction because, in the normal scheme of things, the voltages and powers that amateurs have access to are usually limited by availability and cost so the progression to high volts and power is slowed and there is time to acquire the native skill and cautions for HV work (and the consequent X-ray spectrum they may generate between electrodes in a vacuum). However, as you will see, this topology means that one can buy readily available parts, brand new, and move straight on to having one's own high power, high voltage circuit for just a few $10's. All the risks of any multi 10's kV x multi-mA supply go along with this, so please excuse me to just briefly flag up the usual cautions.