Problem with Canberra Series 30

This area is for discussions involving any fusion related radiation metrology issues. Neutrons are the key signature of fusion, but other radiations are of interest to the amateur fusioneer as well.
User avatar
dario_tortato
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:34 pm
Real name: Dario Tortato
Location: Marcon (Venice) - ITALY

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Post by dario_tortato » Sun Feb 12, 2017 3:54 pm

Ok, I solved the problem, I'm just stupid. To give the supply voltage in the safety, at the instrument under test, I use a 230/230 isolation transformer and a variac with which the straight edge voltage, starting from a hundred volts, and if there are no problems the increased up to the operating voltage.
This caused the flickering image, I connected the device directly to the supply network, and now the picture is still beautiful and everything ok.

richnormand
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 12:30 pm
Real name: rich normand

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Post by richnormand » Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:27 pm

Nice to hear, congrats.
I guess your next steps is to test the ADC in PHA mode and see if the front-end is OK.
Do you have a scintillator/photomultiplier with a HV supply handy?

User avatar
dario_tortato
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:34 pm
Real name: Dario Tortato
Location: Marcon (Venice) - ITALY

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Post by dario_tortato » Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:37 pm

Tanks. Yes, I've this:
IMG_2520.JPG
IMG_3287.JPG
IMG_3478.JPG
Dario

richnormand
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 12:30 pm
Real name: rich normand

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Post by richnormand » Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:33 pm

Very nice indeed! You seem to have a very nice lab.

Please post your test result once everything is working well.
You could use the K40 1.46MeV line from a box of salt substitute from the grocery store.

User avatar
dario_tortato
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:34 pm
Real name: Dario Tortato
Location: Marcon (Venice) - ITALY

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Post by dario_tortato » Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:27 pm

Tank you, no problem, I've many sample source for test. This isn't my first MCA :-)
I hope the weekend to do some testing and then post the results.

Dario

User avatar
dario_tortato
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:34 pm
Real name: Dario Tortato
Location: Marcon (Venice) - ITALY

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Post by dario_tortato » Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:57 pm

Hi, I did a little test of the instrument, it seems okay.
I put the picture of a pair of spectrum.
IMG_3562.JPG
IMG_3564.JPG
Dario

User avatar
dario_tortato
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:34 pm
Real name: Dario Tortato
Location: Marcon (Venice) - ITALY

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Post by dario_tortato » Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:30 pm

After the work of arrangement, some aesthetic restoration:
IMG_3600.JPG
Dario

Post Reply