Problem with Canberra Series 30

This area is for discussions involving any fusion related radiation metrology issues. Neutrons are the key signature of fusion, but other radiations are of interest to the amateur fusioneer as well.

Problem with Canberra Series 30

Postby Weiss » Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:23 pm

Hello everybody,

Since Yesterday I own a Canberra series 30 MCA. But I've a little Problem. I connected my Bicron Na(I) Scintillation Detector with the MCA. The MCS and MCSR Mode works wonderful. But the PHA mode, doesn't work. I have no count, except of the counts in channel zero, which are marking the time. Also I have only 512 Channels, but in the Manual is written, the there are 1024 channels. Can you help me?

Much greetings,

Daniel Weiss

P.S. I'm sorry for my English, I'm a Student from Germany and my English isn't very well ;) But I hope it will be better soon ;)
Weiss

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Postby richnormand » Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:48 pm

I have (somewhat poor but usable) scans in pdf of the service manual for the series 30 if you are interested.

Also does your dead time indicator shoots to 100% or stays at 0% while counting zero. Mine did that and it turned out to be a adjustment pot in the Wilkensen AD convertor circuit that was open.Indeed the MCS mode worked OK too but not the pha mode.On my old unit I found broken rework wires, blown tantalum capacitors and dry electrolytics in the power supply and the crt display board. Seems to work for about a year between repairs.

I would follow the signal from the input, check overdriven or blown