Michael Logusz Plasma Club Submission

Current images of fusor efforts, components, etc. Try to continuously update from your name, a current photo using edit function. Title post with your name once only. Change image and text as needed. See first posting for details.
Michael Logusz

Michael Logusz Plasma Club Submission

Post by Michael Logusz »

Hello everybody. My name is Michael Logusz and I'm a librarian from Metro Detroit.

This is my entry to join the Plasma Club. I was really inspired by the glass process pipe / Pyrex laboratory drain demo fusor by Frank Sanns; Mike Veldman's baby jar fusors; and the Five Minute and Mini Five Minute fusors made by Mark Rowley and Carl Smith.

Frank Sanns' 1968 lab drain fusor finally got me to really get started: I bought a Pyrex lab drain off ebay. I picked up a spectrum tube power supply for $4 and scrounged an entire two valve manifold for free.

Here's my whole setup. I know it will never achieve a great vacuum, it isn't rectified, is the opposite of fancy and almost none of it will physically go into my next actual fusor, but I learned a TON making this ultra simple demo.

I managed to get blue, then purple highlights on my grids. Then the purple darkened and spread along the grid wire nicely and filled the glass pipe with a faint purple fog. My camera had a hard time capturing everything and I was more concerned with operating everything safely but here are some photos of my purple plasma and grids.

The one cool thing about having silicone plugs is that it's easy to change the grids. I tried 5 different grids: stainless steel .051" stainless steel and ultra thin copper wire. During the copper wire grid experiment I had to use two alumina standoffs that were jagged, but they worked. Some thicker stainless wire would only barely glow.

Here is a shot of my ultra thin copper grid collapsing due to the heat