Greetings from Illinois

Please take a moment to introduce yourself in this forum and tell us about your interest. You must use your full real name. We do not allow the used of "handles" and pseudonyms on this site.
Michael Hughes

Greetings from Illinois

Post by Michael Hughes »

Hello everyone! I'm currently a masters student at the University of Illinois, studying the modeling of atmospheric aerosols.

Or, at least, that's what I'm supposed to be doing, and I do sometimes actually work on what I'm supposed to work on. But I have a problem, you see: I'm interested in all of science, not to mention history, politics, economics, and so on. I was a physics major as an undergrad, did most of a masters program in biology, and now I'm doing atmospheric science. Luckily I have a fantastic advisor, and the requirements for what constitutes a thesis are pretty lax here, so I will actually probably graduate in August. What to go from there is totally up in the air.

I do a lot of reading, but reading alone isn't enough to really understand science: you have to work with your hands too. I'm a big amateur science hobbyist, especially in the last couple of years. I got interested in chemistry as a follow-on to the atmospheric chemistry that I learned about for my project, and I had actually taken very little chemistry despite the lots of physics and biology. So I went to work educating myself, buying a bunch of chemicals and glassware and doing some interesting reactions, helped along by sciencemadness.org and several great youtubers such as ChemPlayer and NileRed. I learned a whole lot that I wouldn't have gotten in a classroom or just by reading stuff.