Hi there!

Please take a moment to introduce yourself in this forum and tell us about your interest. You must use your full real name. We do not allow the used of "handles" and pseudonyms on this site.

Hi there!

Post by guest »

Hello! I'm happy to join the fusor forum. Before I proceed any further, I would like to apologize in advance for the length of this introductory document. I am an optical engineer with Boeing in Seattle. As a kid growing up in the 50's, I built my share of Tesla coils, vacuum pumps, lasers, etc. I graduated with an MS in astrophysics from BYU in 1973. In my working career I have designed and developed optical systems ranging from very large to very small, mainly for government agencies. I was recently in charge of redesigning the large windows for the International Space Station.

My first exposure to the Farnsworth Fusor was as a graduate student. Back in 1972 I saw a model of the Farnsworth Fusor under construction in the underground high-energy physics lab at BYU. I was told that Farnsworth had donated the relevant patents to BYU, and that they were attempting to replicate the device. I left BYU shortly thereafter, so I don't know if they ever got it working.