Curious newbie

Please take a moment to introduce yourself in this forum and tell us about your interest. You must use your full real name. We do not allow the used of "handles" and pseudonyms on this site.

Curious newbie

Post by guest »

Hi, I'm a newbie - never even knew the fusor existed until a few days ago, but in trying to run down rumors about Tesla's EV, a series of inquiries led me to beleive that a fusor was possible and that tesla had built one - then discovered others had come to the same conclusion and were performing experiments, and decided to come watch the fun.

I'd like to build a fusor powered by a HV HF AC source, but I need a lot of safety equipment to do this that I don't have and don't know where I would get. Obviously, I need X-ray and neutreno measuring devices, and sheilding, and a much beefier vac pump than I currently have, and bottled hydrogen, and a few dozen other things I don't currently have lying around - but I hope eventually to perform experiments, because I have a few interesting theories.

In the meantime, I'd like to lurk and learn - I love learning new things.

S.

Re: Curious newbie

Post by guest »

Neutrino stuff is currently beyond the amateur tech's reach but for everything else there's EBAY, Ham Fests
and of course the dreaded do it yourself. I'll bet you meant to say neutron measurement.

Welcome!
Fusion is Fun!

Larry Leins (3l)
Physics Teacher

Post by guest »

I certainly hope you will avail yourself to our "newbie center;" http://fusor.net/newbie . Lord knows I spent a lotta time putting that together, it's about time somebody looked at it. Please let me know if you find it useful or if you have any suggestions what else it needs.

--PS

Post by guest »

1) Yes, I meant neutron. Don't know how neutrino slipped out

2) Could someone explain to a newbie, using small words, exactly why neutron flux is dangerous and what options there are for a low budget ($5k total project budget) experimenter to sheild against them?