Hello from California

Please take a moment to introduce yourself in this forum and tell us about your interest. You must use your full real name. We do not allow the used of "handles" and pseudonyms on this site.
Miles Hawley

Hello from California

Post by Miles Hawley »

Hello my name is Miles Hawley.

I am a sophomore in high school ready to embark on the voyage of fusion. I have been hovering around this sight for a while, reading up on the FAQ's, articles, and technical discussions absorbing all the knowledge you provide. I already have a design ready, and am aiming for complete fusion and neutron detection. I just wanted some advice on my choice of materials.

For the chamber, I was originally going to use 2 304 SS 6" diameter, .120" thick hemispheres, but then saw someone used a 2.75" 4-way cross conflate, and was wondering which one would be better. The only problem is there are only, 4 lines in the 4-way cross and I need 5 for a gas line, electrical line, pressure line, vacuum line, and view port, any suggestions?

The inner grid I decided will be made out of 1mm thick tungsten wire.