Hello from Mississauga

Please take a moment to introduce yourself in this forum and tell us about your interest. You must use your full real name. We do not allow the used of "handles" and pseudonyms on this site.
S Silvawalker

Hello from Mississauga

Post by S Silvawalker »

Hello, My name is Storm Silvawalker, I am a high school student about to go to university. I have been attempting to build inertial electrostatic confinement fusors for about a year now with some success, although I have been looking at how to make them for almost six at this point. All of my tests have been self-funded and my experience with high voltages and currents comes from many years of parental support and experiments with microwave oven transformers to make some pretty cool light shows.

My tests use an old Edwards two stage rotary vane vacuum pump with Edwards Ultragrade 19 oil. The tests have been performed with both acrylic chambers and glass bell jar chambers. The tests have also been done with both rectified microwave oven transformers(may my multimeter rest in peace) and with a flyback transformer.

Pressure=7.5x10^-8 Torr (not really though as I have some serious leaks)
MOT(microwave oven transformer)
V=2kV
I=1A

Flyback (yeah this one has an x-ray risk)
V=10-20kV
I=?
(have not done many tests and really don't trust and values I find for these)

Really simple stuff but I am here to learn and I would appreciate any advice which I can get, thank you for your time and I hope to post my projects for you guys to see soon.
Dennis P Brown

Re: Hello from Mississauga

Post by Dennis P Brown »

Hello and sounds like you have some good experience with developing electric induced plasma's.

A two stage pump can't readily achieve 10^-3 torr much less achieve 10^-8 torr. Even a good turbo would struggle except with a very tight system that is extremely clean. So, I assume that is a typo.