Hello from Vancouver/Hamilton

Please take a moment to introduce yourself in this forum and tell us about your interest. You must use your full real name. We do not allow the used of "handles" and pseudonyms on this site.
Curtis Graham

Hello from Vancouver/Hamilton

Post by Curtis Graham »

Hello all,
My name is Curtis Graham, and I am in my fourth year of engineering physics at McMaster University. I'm looking into building a fusor with some of my spare time, as particle accelerators and fusion reactors are a huge area of interest for me. In terms of relevant experience, I am currently working at a co-op placement at TRIUMF as part of a team designing a high voltage feed through for the new ARIEL accelerator. I also have some experience in school working with rotary pumps and turbos in low to high vacuum. My end goal is to make a fusor with a fairly high neutron production rate to be used as a source for activation experiments, but I figure I'd better start walking before trying to run and try my hand at a demo fusor first. Looking forward to learning and talking with the people on this site.

Curtis Graham
Dennis P Brown

Re: Hello from Vancouver/Hamilton

Post by Dennis P Brown »

Hello. You should consider doing an ion gun system to achieve fusion - combining both an accelerator design and fusion. Developing a true linear accelerator (not a simple electro-static system) for deuterium ions would be a great project and extremely interesting to post here. The key would be building the proper oscillator driver for the accelerator tube. Just a thought.
Michael Bretti

Post by Michael Bretti »