Hello fusioneers!

Please take a moment to introduce yourself in this forum and tell us about your interest. You must use your full real name. We do not allow the used of "handles" and pseudonyms on this site.
Kevin Chesterfield

Hello fusioneers!

Post by Kevin Chesterfield »

Hi, I'm Kevin Chesterfield from the Midwest in Indiana. I've wanted to build a fusor since I was in college (Nuclear Engineering from Purdue) and now have some time (and money) to do so. I currently work as a software engineer, and have not directly participated in the nuclear industry or academics for a few years.

Where is the best resource to begin looking for parts? I have a rough plan of how I want to approach this project, but having issues finding reasonably priced parts. For example, I'm having problems finding a high voltage power supply ~50kv max. Any suggestions?
Last edited by Kevin Chesterfield on Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dennis P Brown

Re: Hello fusioneers!

Post by Dennis P Brown »

A good starting point is reading the forum here where stuff is for sale! A common place is searching ebay on a regular bases. But before buying anything first, read enough FAQ's so you both know what is needed and related parameters on the requirements that are unique to a fusor. Also, after that, do ask questions before buying a major item like a power supply - an error there can be very expensive waste of resources. Also read posts on chambers so you have a clear idea of both the type of fusor chamber you want - a small four-way course or the traditional sphere (and whether small or large) or even kluge together your own (depending on your shop skills.)

Which brings up your skill level in electronics and/or machine shop work. This matters if one wants to be as economical as possible. If not a skill area, turnkey is a possible course of action (and the most expensive.)