Use of Swagelok needle valves

For Short Term Learning Discussions ONLY. This area is for CURSORY questions and connecting with other users ONLY. ALL technical contributions need to be made in the appropriate forums and NOT HERE. All posts are temporary and will be deleted within weeks or months. You should have already search the extensive FAQs in each of the forums before posting here as your question may already be answered.
Jackson Oswalt

Use of Swagelok needle valves

Post by Jackson Oswalt » Fri Mar 09, 2018 12:41 am

Disclaimer: I'm not technically a new user, but this is a basic question that will fit in with the posts in the section.

Hello all,

In the following FAQ: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=12063, a micrometer leak valve is required in order to more finely adjust the flow of deuterium. Unfortunately, these are quite expensive so I was wondering if Swagelok needle valves (such as these: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lot-of-2-Swage ... SwH09ZM2ty) could be used as an alternative. The reason why I'm looking for a cheap alternative is because I'm currently looking into integrating Helium-3 into my system, which requires a second leak valve. More on that later.

Thanks,
-JO
The Youngest Fusioneer At 12 Years Old

ian_krase

Re: Use of Swagelok needle valves

Post by ian_krase » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:09 am

What you really want a swagelock micrometer needle valves like this: https://www.ebay.com/itm/2UNITS-SWAGELO ... 2127117144

Jackson Oswalt

Post by Jackson Oswalt » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:33 am

Twice as much money unfortunately. The one I currently have is of the same type.
The Youngest Fusioneer At 12 Years Old

Roberto Ferrari

Post by Roberto Ferrari » Fri Mar 09, 2018 12:05 pm

I have a similar one but failed to make it leak-free.

Opened, shows two metal surfaces, no seal...

Rex Allers

Post by Rex Allers » Fri Mar 09, 2018 12:23 pm