High Voltage Supply

For Short Term Learning Discussions ONLY. This area is for CURSORY questions and connecting with other users ONLY. ALL technical contributions need to be made in the appropriate forums and NOT HERE. All posts are temporary and will be deleted within weeks or months. You should have already search the extensive FAQs in each of the forums before posting here as your question may already be answered.
mia_rupani

High Voltage Supply

Post by mia_rupani »

Hiya! I'm very new to this fusor forum so sorry if my questions seem a little obvious!

I know that the voltage required to put into the fusor is around 40-50kV, and post speaking to electrical engineers they told me that the transformer and rectifier I needed costs about half a million pounds and that I'd need to rent an entire plot of land to build a small substation, but I've seen youtube videos of people doing it in their back sheds!
Is there any more financially viable way of getting this big of a voltage without having to buy a huge transformer?!

Thanks,
Mia
Rex Allers

Re: High Voltage Supply

Post by Rex Allers »

The engineers' advice you got is either clueless or focused on the point of view of commercial power distribution. You don't need megawatts of power for the kind of fusor made by amateurs here.

For a real fusing fusor (not demo version) I think your target of 40-50 kV is reasonable.

The other thing you need from the supply is its current capability. For that you probably want a minimum of 10 mA. It will be easier with 20 mA or more.

Another way to look at the supply is it's output power maximum. A simple formula...
P = I x E = current x voltage ; where P in watts, I in amps, E in volts

A just barely adaquate supply for detectable fusion might be 30 kV at 10 mA or 300 watts output. I think most who have successfully done fusion have supplies capable of 400 or more watts, eg. 40 kV at 10 mA. An easier operation would be, say 800 watts or 40 kV at 20 mA.