An energy producing Fusor

For posts specifically relating to fusor design, construction, and operation.
Hayabusa

An energy producing Fusor

Post by Hayabusa »

Hello All,

Fasinating forum!

I have been reviewing the fusor pages for about a week now, and have yet to come across something that describes a means of extracting energy from the Fusor. Im not talking about a system which generates more energy then what the system consumes in operation or even a break even condition, I realize thats the goal, or at least the major one.

Im really new at this and probably just don't understand the language enough yet so I probably missed it.

Would someone please explain to me in simple laymen terms how the fusor could produce electrical energy.

I would like to propose an Idea here, because Im wondering if someone has already tried this. It's probably flawed in some way but here it goes.

The Center(inner) grid heats up during operation, therefore limiting the amount of time the Fusor can stay in operation.

Has anyone considered or tried constructing the inner grid from a coil of fine hollow stainless steel tubing, which is formed into a spherical shape? The hollow tube could then be filled with a liquid which would then serve to purposes, 1) it would cool the grid, and allow for continuos operation, and 2) provide a means of extracting energy, and generating electrical energy via turbine/boiler.

I love the work you guys have done, and can't believe something like this has been kept out of the public eye for so long Discovery Channel were are you?

Thanks in advance for any feed back

If this is a good idea and works, then perhaps liquid cooling/energy-collection could also be aplied to the shell.

Happy Fusing fellas ;^)
Q

Re: An energy producing Fusor

Post by Q »

hi roger,