Pumping Setup - A Few Questions

Every fusor and fusion system seems to need a vacuum. This area is for detailed discussion of vacuum systems, materials, gauging, etc. related to fusor or fusion research.
Nicolas Krause

Pumping Setup - A Few Questions

Post by Nicolas Krause »

Hello,

I figured I'd ask these questions in this forum rather than in the mega thread I've been working on. I believe I've got all the bits together to properly seal up the chamber and pump it down. I recall reading somewhere on this forum that someone was of the opinion that the turbo pump should not be in a direct line with the vacuum chamber due to the possibility of something falling into the chamber and destroying the turbo. However the manual for my turbopump shows diagrams with a short straight connection to the chamber, so I'm not too sure which is ok or if it matters at all. I have a 90 degree conflat connector that I could use to move the turbopump to a different angle, but would that reduce my pumping efficiency? Secondly the butterfly valve I've purchased has a seemingly different type of sealing edge than the knife edge used with the copper conflats. Can I use a copper conflat with it or do I have to switch to an o-ring of some type? If I have to switch to the O-ring will with work to connect to the knife edge conflats I have on all my other connectors?
ChristofferBraestrup

Re: Pumping Setup - A Few Questions

Post by ChristofferBraestrup »

There is nothing 'wrong' having the turbo directly in-line with your vacuum chamber per se. Many a commercial turbo system is built this way. HOWEVER:

if debris falls into the pump, it will tear itself apart very fast and very energetically.